Adam Todd named 1st XI player of the year at annual dinner


Adam Todd was named 1st team player of the year at Swardeston’s annual awards presentation dinner, held at Eaton Golf Club.

The dinner was attended by just under 60 guests and was also marked by presentations to the young player of the year and the outstanding performance of the season award. Read separate report.

And for the first time a new trophy was awarded for the best young player of the player season (Under-16) – the Philip Sturman Memorial Trophy. See separate report.

Chair Stuart Bartram welcomed players and members and thanked guests from main club sponsors Leathes Prior for their support during a difficult two years since the club had last staged the dinner

1st XI captain Lewis said the season had been a difficult one as the squad had to contend with four games not played due to Covid. A number of players had put together performances which put them on the shortlist for the award.

However, Lewis said Adam had led the bowling attack very well in his second season at Swardeston, achieving 36 wickets at an average of 16.75 and recording just over 21% of the team’s wickets taken.

Adam’s best performance came at Bury St Edmunds when he recorded 5-34.

Unfortunately, Adam was unable to attend the dinner as he was working but Lewis said he would present the Chris Bean Cup to him at the start of the season.

George Walker picked up the John Bobbin Salver as 2nd XI player of the year. Skipper Ben Hogg, who was unable to attend, sent his review which was read out by the chair.

George notched 545 runs, with four fifties and took 27 wickets. Ben also thanked him for stepping in as captain when Ben realised that “perhaps setting fields and rotating bowlers on top of acting as stand-in emergency keeper, with dislocated fingers, was more than I could manage.”

Ben added: “I would just like to wish George well as captain for next season. I’ve absolutely loved the challenges that have come with captaincy and feel privileged and honoured to have captained the 2nd team for the past nine seasons.”

All-rounder Saffy Herathge was named as the  Swardeston CEYMS player of the year by captain Matt Hogg, winning the Bob Read Shield.  Matt was also unable to attend and his review was also read out by the chairman.

Matt said: “Will Kidner scored 346 runs with two fifties and a top score of 92; Sam Thelwell scored 235 runs and took 11 wickets; Eliot Fox scored back to back 50s in July. But of the games that we won, Saffy outshone us all and really made the difference in those games. He scored 343 runs, took 25 wickets, Sapumal Herathge is my player of the season for 2021.”

Lawry Williams was named the Swardeston CEYMS A player of the year by captain Cameron Clarke, taking home the CEYMS Trophy.

Cameron praised the performance of the team’s youngsters and more senior players in a difficult season for consistent availability. Lawry had taken his chance very well. In six games he scored 243 runs with a top score of 89 in the victory at Beccles.

Harry De Coteau-Spring was named the Swardeston Sunday player of the year and winner of the Peter Thomas Trophy by captain Sam Thelwell. 

Harry bowled the most overs for the team, taking 10 wickets and had also hit 54 in the game at North Runcton. He also took five catches.

In its fourth year, India Fox was named the Women’s Player of the Year. India received the Rosamond Thomas Trophy.

Women and girls coach Neil Tayor said India had been a leading performer throughout the summer, showing great progress in her development. She had been an ever-present in both the outdoor and indoor seasons.

Chris Bean Cup – 1st XI player of the year: Adam Todd
John Bobbin Salver – 2nd XI player of the year: George Walker
Bob Read Shield – Swardeston CEYMS player of the year: Saffy Herathge
CEYMS Trophy – Swardeston CEYMS A player of the year: Lawry Williams
Peter Thomas Trophy – Swardeston Sunday player of the year: Harry De Coteau-Spring
Rosamond Thomas Trophy – Women’s player of the year: India Fox

Chair Stuart Bartram presents George Walker with the John Bobbin Salver for 2nd XI player of the year.
Chair Stuart Bartram presents Saffy Herathge with the Bob Read Shield for Swardeston CEYMS player of the year.
Captain Cameron Clarke presents Lawry Williams with the CEYMS Trophy for the Swardeston CEYMS A player of the year.
Captain Sam Thelwell presents Harry De Coteau-Spring with the Peter Thomas Trophy for the Swardeston CEYMS Sunday player of the year.
Women and Girls Coach Neil Taylor presents India Fox with the Rosamond Thomas Trophy for the Swardeston Women & Girls player of the year.


Leave A Reply