Runfest as Swardeston reach play-off final


Record EAPL score as batsmen post 409-8.

Report by Kevin Denmark.
Photos by Dale Clarke

It was first v second in the North Group with Swardeston needing just five points from their trip to Mildenhall to secure the EAPL North group title and qualify for the play-off against South group winners Sawston & Babraham.

Batting first the visitors, and in particular, Callum Taylor got off to a blistering start adding 100 runs for the first wicket in just 15 overs before brother Jordan was first out for 16. The introduction of the dangerous Jake Foley quickly reduced Swardeston to 122-4 including the wicket of Taylor who batted for just 60 balls in making 84 including 12 fours and 2 sixes.

Any plans the home side had of causing an upset were then ripped apart by Joe Gatting and Lewis Denmark who, coming together in the 20th over, were both in imperious form and added a record-breaking stand of 239 for the 5th wicket as the home bowlers all suffered in a savage onslaught of big hitting.

They were finally parted in the 46th over when Gatting was out for 122, his 5th century of the season in his final match before returning to Australia. His innings included 19 fours and 3 sixes from just 80 balls faced. Whist further wickets tumbled Denmark took over and remained undefeated including 24 from the final over as the innings closed a massive 409-8 from their 50 overs – their highest ever score in EAPL 50 over cricket. Denmark finished 135 not out including 17 fours and 6 sixes, his highest ever EAPL score.

Jake Foley did have the consolation of taking three wickets, conceding 70 runs in the process and he was supported by Alex Cruickshank with 3-77 from 8 overs.

In reply Mildenhall posted a creditable 320-4 from their 50 overs but were never in with a chance of chasing the total – Tom Rash helped himself to 119 including 14 fours and Jack Potticary 99 (12 fours) as Swardeston used eight different bowled as, by virtue of twenty five points gained from their victory, they clinched the title by a margin of 37 points winning nine of their 10 matches.

View scorecard.


Leave A Reply