Lewis Denmark wins performance of the year award, Joe Flatt named young player of the year


Further awards given at the 2019 annual Swardeston CC awards dinner at Brasted’s Restaurant were as follows.

Players of the year were also honoured, see separate report.

The trophy for the most outstanding performance of the year was awarded to Lewis Denmark for his spectacular innings at Derby of 122 not out in the National T20 semi-final against Nantwich.

Going in at 12-2, Lewis hit 14 boundaries and five sixes in his 56-ball innings and laid the foundation for an imposing Swardeston team score that day as they went on to make 212-4 in their 20 overs. Lewis’ innings ensured Swardeston made the final.

Club captain Peter Thomas said Lewis had played an unbelievable innings, showing a magnificent range of shots. He had dominated the Nantwich attack and anyone who had witnessed that innings would never ever forget it, he told the dinner.

Joe Flatt was the winner of the Neville Herathge Trophy for the outstanding youth player of the year.

Peter Thomas said that Joe had a strong debut season for the club. His 70 wickets meant he was the leading wicket taker throughout the whole club. Fifty-four of those wickets came while playing for the 1st XI, 35 in his first-ever season in the EAPL.

Peter said Joe had taken his 1st XI chance and gone on to become a very important player for the team .

John Betts Cup – Outstanding performance of the year: Lewis Denmark

Neville Herathge Trophy – Most outstanding youth player: Joe Flatt

The evening was got underway by George Walker who ran a ‘novel’ heads and tails featuring facts and figures from the club’s 2018 statistics. The first prize was won by Stephen Gray.

Lewis Denmark - Performance

Club captain Peter Thomas presents Lewis Denmark with the John Betts Cup for the most outstanding performance of the year.


Joe Flatt - Young Player

Joe Flatt receives the Neville Herathge Trophy from club captain Peter Thomas.


Leave A Reply