AGM reflects on fantastic year for the club


Chairman Mark Taylor outlined at the club’s AGM what a fantastic year 2016 had been for the club¬†both on and off the field.

On the field this was largely driven by the Premier XI winning the national NatWest Club T20 title; reaching the final of the Royal London National Club Championship; winning the Carter Cup for the sixth time; winning the Gibbs Denley East Anglian Premier League (EAPL) for the fifth season in a row (and by 108 points). Swardeston had also won the Active Norfolk team of the year award, the All Out Cricket Magazine club of the year award and been joint winners of the Dipple and Conway Norfolk Cricket Alliance (NCA) club of the year award.

Unfortunately both the First XI and A XI had both been relegated from their respective divisions in the NCA although Swardeston/CEYMS had maintained their status in Division Five. The Sunday XI had done well, said Mark, whilst playing a lot of youngsters.

The youth section had continued to develop with the Under 13s and Under 15s both winning the Norfolk section of their respective ECB competitions and the Under 9s were runners-up in the Under 9 NCA competition. Mark congratulated all the youth players who had achieved county honours during the year.

Under Katie Treutler’s leadership the women and girls section had really prospered with more than 30¬†members regularly involved. They would enter the indoor league again and also the summer league, making eight games in total.

He thanked main club sponsors Leathes Prior and also Swardeston-based Production Bureau who had come on board during the 2016 season.

He finished by paying tribute to all at the club who had made the year such a success off the field. The annual presentation dinner and the stag dinner has been very successful and the effort shown by committee and club members organising the home fixture in the semi-final of the Royal London National Club Championship against Weybridge had been fantastic. A large crowd had been very well looked after.

Premier XI captain Mark Thomas told the meeting that it had been a fantastic season and the contribution of a lot of the team’s younger players had¬†especially pleased him. Mark said the catalyst for the season’s success had been the arrival of Joe Gatting at¬†Swardeston. Mark¬†was delighted¬†to tell the meeting that Joe had signed for another two years.

Mark thanked vice-captain George Walker who led the team to victory in the Carter Cup this season after a long wait.  George was stepping down from vice-captaincy duty with Joe taking his place, but would remain on the selection committee.


President                                             Mrs R Thomas

Chairman                                            Mark Taylor

Vice РChairman                                 Norman Bygrave

Secretary                                              Lee Beadman

Treasurer                                             Tony Bailey

Club Captain                                       Peter Thomas

Premier XI Captain                           Mark Thomas

Premier XI Vice РCaptain                Joe Gatting

1st XI Captain                                     Ben Hogg

A XI Captain                                       Matt Hogg

Swardeston/CEYMS Manager        Peter Thomas

Sunday XI Captain                            Daniel Martin

Fixture Secretary                               Peter Thomas

Sponsorship Secretary                     Stuart Bartram

Director of Coaching                        David Thomas

Welfare Officer                                  Lee Beadman

Women and Girls Manager             Katie Treutler

Communications Manager              Lionel Levinson

Grants Manager                                 Kevin Denmark

Club Committee                                 Officers above (apart from Premier XI vice-captain) plus: Kevin Cooper, Ian Tufts, Peter Lambert, Steven Gray

Selection Committee                         Peter Thomas, Mark Thomas, Joe Gatting, George Walker, Peter Lambert, Ben Hogg, Matt Hogg

Youth Cricket Manager                     Peter Thomas

Under 15s Manager                            tbc

Under 13s Manager                            tbc

Under 11s Manager                            tbc

Under 9s Manager                             tbc

Groundsman                                       Pat Hall

Scorers                                                 Norman Bygrave, Nigel Goddard



B Addy

A Anderson

C Barnett

D Bassingthwaighte

J Betts

T Boon

M Bowles

C Brighton

R Chapple

P Cook

A Duffield

S Green

I Hagon

M Hill

P Hill

A Jay

E Kelly

G Knights

T Jones

P Lincoln

G Loades

I Newton

S Oxley

W Panks

P Parfitt

S Ranasingghe

REH Read

A Rist

Mrs V Rist

G Rogers

N Rudd

M Ruffell

G Sarsby

S Shearing

K Skipper

P Sturman

Mrs S Sturman

G Tufts

P Tufts

J Tythcott

WJ Walker

W Wharton



Leave A Reply