Callum Taylor named in England squad for Under-19 World Cup

Callum Taylor, left, celebrates the drawn series with Australia after helping England Under-19s win the final one-day match of the series at Worcestershire, pictured with team-mate Dan Lawrence. Picture: ECB

Callum Taylor, left, pictured with Essex team-mate Dan Lawrence, who has also been named in the World Cup squad. Picture: ECB

Swardeston’s Callum Taylor has been named in the England squad which will travel to Bangladesh in the new year to take part in the Under-19 World Cup.

Brad Taylor has been confirmed as England’s captain for the forthcoming 50-over tournament, which starts on January 26.

David Graveney OBE, the National Performance Manager and chairman of selectors, said: “We have been building towards this competition for some time and I think we’re a lot further down the road than we were before the last Under-19s World Cup in Dubai two years ago. England finished third in that tournament which was a fine achievement and there is no reason why this squad could not do as well or even better than that.

“The team have spent the last three weeks in Sri Lanka and although the results were disappointing, it was a valuable learning experience against two very talented teams in conditions similar to those we expect to find in Bangladesh.”

After a Christmas break, the squad will leave for a week of practice in Dubai on January 14, including a warm-up match against South Africa on January 18, before flying on to Bangladesh two days later.

England will open their campaign against Fiji in Chittagong on January 27, with further group games against West Indies and Zimbabwe.

This will be the 11th running of the tournament since it began in 1988, with England’s sole win coming 10 years later when a team captained by Owais Shah and including Graeme Swann and Rob Key beat New Zealand in the final in Johannesburg.

England squad for ICC Under-19 World Cup, Bangladesh, January 26 – February 14:

George Bartlett – Somerset
Jack Burnham – Durham
Mason Crane – Hampshire
Sam Curran – Surrey
Ryan Davies – Somerset
Aneurin Donald – Glamorgan
George Garton – Sussex
Ben Green – Somerset
Max Holden – Middlesex
Dan Lawrence (Vice Captain) – Essex
Saqib Mahmood – Lancashire
Tom Moores – Nottinghamshire
Brad Taylor (Captain) – Hampshire
Callum Taylor – Essex
Jared Warner – Yorkshire



Leave A Reply