Players prove their worth in hat-trick of titles – hears AGM


Swardeston’s clinching of a hat-trick of EAPL titles in the 2014 season was once again built on the real commitment and contribution of the players, the club’s annual general meeting heard.

EAPL Captain Mark Thomas told the meeting that the club’s decision to go into the season without the services of a lead overseas player was fully justified as his team led the table from almost start to finish.

However with relegation once again featuring in the 2015 EAPL, he said Swardeston would be seeking to engage the services of two overseas players – one to play in the EAPL and the other to play in the premier division of the Norfolk Cricket Alliance.

The 2015 season would also see a focus on trying to acheive success in national tournaments, added Thomas.

Chairman Mark Taylor reported that 2014 was another successful year for the club on and off the pitch.

First of all, he congratulated Mark Thomas and the Premier XI for retaining the East Anglian Premier League (EAPL) and winning the Norfolk 20/20 Competition. They also had a superb run in the ECB NatWest T20 Championship, reaching the last 16 in the country, he said.

The First XI secured a mid-table finish in their first season back in the Premier Division of the Norfolk Cricket Alliance (NCA), whilst the A XI and Swardeston/CEYMS XI had both consolidated their positions in their respective divisions.

Mark stated that the junior section was increasingly buoyant and that the club was reviewing its coaching provision with a view to offering more coaching duties for the well-regarded young coaches at the club. This would include taking on you the team manager responsibilities.

Mark was particularly pleased that the club’s girls section had continued to develop.

Ladies manager Katie Treutler reported that a consistent group of 13 girls, from 8-15 years of age, had regularly attended and at times this number had reached 19. She was looking forward to working with a dedicated coach for the girls section in 2015.

The Chairman thanked some of the key contributors to the Club; Peter Thomas for dealing with team selection and availability; David Thomas for once again organising another successful Stag Dinner; our main sponsor, The Parson Woodforde/Aquaterra, who had renewed for another year, and the ongoing valued support from CEYMS.

He congratulated Callum Taylor on the award of his first professional contract with Essex and wished him good luck with his trip with the England Development Programme training in the UAE.

Treasurer Tony Bailey told the meeting that the club was in sound financial health with sufficient reserves to cater for the unexpected.

Officers elected at annual general meeting held at Swardeston CC on Wednesday 3 December 2014.

President Mrs R Thomas
Chairman Mark Taylor
Vice-Chairman Norman Bygrave
Secretary Lee Beadman
Treasurer Tony Bailey
Club Captain Peter Thomas
Premier XI Captain Mark Thomas
Premier XI Vice-Captain George Walker
1st XI Captain Ben Hogg
A XI Captain Nathan Taylor
Swardeston/CEYMS Manager Peter Thomas
Sunday XI Captain Ben Hogg/Lewis Denmark
Fixture Secretary Peter Thomas
Sponsorship Secretary Stuart Bartram
Director of Coaching David Thomas
Welfare Officer Peter Reynolds
Ladies Manager Katie Treutler
Communications Manager Lionel Levinson
Grants Manager Kevin Denmark
Club Committee Officers above, plus: Kevin Cooper; Ben Shearing; Ian Tufts; Peter Lambert
Selection Committee Peter Thomas; Mark Thomas; George Walker; Peter Lambert; Ben Hogg; Nathan Taylor
Youth Cricket Manager Peter Thomas
Under 15s Manager Lewis Denmark
Under 13s Manager Tony Bailey
Under 11s Manager Jason Reynolds
Under 9s Manager Sapumal Herathge
Groundsman Pat Hall
Scorers Norman Bygrave; Nigel Goddard; Mrs Claire Cranston


Leave A Reply