Rose Bowl the Twenty20 goal for Swardeston


There will be an extra incentive for the eight clubs including Swardeston as they take part in this year’s Norfolk Twenty20 Cup.

The competition will this season double up as the Norfolk rounds of the ECB Cockspur Club Twenty20. The Norfolk winners will go through to the regional rounds of the Cockspur competition, with the ultimate prize of a place in the Sky-televised national finals at Hampshire’s Rose Bowl stadium, at stake.

Matches will again be staged at Manor Park, with the opening tie on Tuesday, May 25 between Brooke and Horsford. Reigning champions Norwich have a tough opening assignment when they take on Vauxhall Mallards, who have returned to the competition this year in place of Cromer.

Swardeston, winners in 2008, have been drawn in Group B alongside Fakenham, Acle and Great Witchingham and kick off their fixtures with 26 May match against Acle.

KT Financial Services, of Unthank Road, Norwich are the new competition sponsors and the winners will receive £1,000 prize money.

Philip Heyburn of the Norfolk Twenty20 Cup organising committee, said: “The competition has developed an increasing profile over the last few years and, with the incorporation of the Cockspur Cup, it is hoped that this will continue with a successful and happy competition in 2010.”

Group A: Brooke, Horsford, Norwich, Vauxhall Mallards. Group B: Fakenham, Acle, Great Witchingham, Swardeston.

Fixtures: Tuesday, May 25 Brooke v Horsford; Wednesday, May 26 Acle v Swardeston; Thursday, May 27 Vauxhall Mallards v Norwich; Tuesday, June 1 Fakenham v Great Witchingham; Wednesday, June 2 Brooke v Vauxhall Mallards; Thursday, June 3 Fakenham v Acle; Tuesday, June 8 Norwich v Brooke; Wednesday, June 9 Swardeston v Great Witchingham; Thursday, June 10 Horsford v Norwich; Monday, June 14 Great Witchingham v Acle; Tuesday, June 15 Horsford v Vauxhall Mallards; Thursday, June 17 Swardeston v Fakenham; Thursday, July 1 semi-final, winner Group A v runner-up Group B; Thursday, July 8 semi-final, winner Group B v runner-up Group A; Friday, July 16 final.


Leave A Reply