Swardeston-CEYMS to play in Norfolk Alliance in 2009


The Norfolk Alliance has revealed the make-up of its three new divisions for next season and CEYMS will move from the Norfolk League to play in the new Division Six.

The Alliance has drawn teams from its feeder leagues, the Norfolk League and the West Norfolk League, as it expands from its existing four divisions to seven.

West Norfolk League champions Narborough, who missed out on promotion to Alliance Division Three because of the lack of shower facilities at their ground, have been placed in the new Division Four.

The side they pipped to the West Norfolk Division One title, Hayley East Anglia, are also in Division Four, although that is subject to them meeting requirements regarding improvements to their Castle Rising ground.

Norwich & Coltishall Wanderers A have effectively dropped two levels after finishing bottom of Alliance Division Three and they will start their 2009 campaign in Division Five.


Last season’s final league position in brackets

NA – Norfolk Alliance

NL – Norfolk League

WNL – West Norfolk League

# Division Four

Acle A (NL Division 1, 7th)
Bungay (NL Division 1, 4th)
Dereham A (WNL Division 1, 6th)
Great Melton (NL Division 1, 6th)
Great Witchingham A (NL Division 1, 2nd)
Hayley East Anglia* (WNL Division 1, 3rd)
Narborough (WNL Division 1, 1st)
Norwich B (NL Division 1, 8th)
Old Buckenham A (NL Division 1, 5th)
Stow A (WNL Division 1, 8th)

* entry subject to standards confirmation

# Division Five

Beccles A (NL Division 1, 10th)
Bradenham A (NL Division 4, 2nd)
Brooke A (NL Division 3, 1st)
Cromer A (NL Division 3, 2nd)
Diss A (NL Division 3, 5th)
Great Melton A (NL Division 4, 1st)
Halvergate (NL Division 2, 9th)
Norwich & Coltishall Wanderers A (NA Division 3, 10th)
Sprowston A* (NL Division 2, 4th)
Topcroft A (NL Division 2, 3rd)

* Division Four reserve
# Division Six

Bradfield A (NL Division 5, 5th)
CEYMS (NL Division 4, 5th)
Garboldisham A (NL Division 4, 4th)
Hethersett & Tas Valley A (NL Division 5, 6th)
Lowestoft A (NL Division 5, 1st)
Mattishall A (NL Division 4, 7th)
Rocklands* (NL Division 4, 3rd)
Saxlingham A (NL Division 4, 6th)
Thetford A (WNL Division 2, 6th)
Vauxhall Mallards B (NL Division 5, 7th)

* Division Five reserve
# Division Six reserves

1) Mundford A
2) East Harling A

# Unsuccessful applicants: Aldborough, Fakenham B, Martham, Martham A, Old Catton, Rocklands A, St Andrews, Sandringham, Sheringham A, Snettisham, Swanton Morley, Winterton.


Leave A Reply