Swardeston – 2007 EAPL champions


Swardeston won their first East Anglian Premier Cricket League title with a six wicket victory over Norwich at Ingham on Saturday.

Needing a win to be sure of the title, the visitors found themselves in the field having lost the toss. This didn’t deter Mark Thomas’ side as tight bowling from Thomas and Michael Eccles combined with four excellent catches in the first 13 overs saw the hosts reduced to 18 for 4. Despite 23 from Charlie Ponder and 11 from tail ender Paul Wiseman, Norwich were dismissed just before lunch for 60.

Thoughts of an easy victory and the title celebrations were temporarily put on hold as Swardeston slipped from 15 for 0 to 29 for 4 in the space of 6 overs, but an unbeaten partnership of 34 between Daniel Martin (14*) and Richard Sims (15*) saw the visitors home and allowed the celebrations to begin just before 3pm.

Following on from Friday nights success in the floodlit 20/20, Swardeston will be hoping to make it a hat trick on Sunday when they take on Vauxhall Mallards in the Biss Trophy Final (2.45pm Brundall).


Leave A Reply