Swardeston-CEYMS under 15s beaten in the rush hour


Diss Under-15s were in commanding form as the club won the Andy Seeley Trophy for the third time in the last five years.

Diss’ Henry Rush was the star of the show as the south Norfolk team beat Swardeston-CEYMS by nine wickets in the final played at Diss.

Rush bowled six tight overs for only 12 runs as Swardeston-CEYMS were restricted to 134-2 from their 30 overs. He then led the charge with the bat, hitting an unbeaten 68 as Diss romped home in the 19th over.

Rush received great support from Barry Lynn (23) with whom he put on 58 for the first wicket and from Liam Brown (24no). This pair stormed Diss to victory adding an unbeaten 80 in just more than 10 overs.

The Swardeston-CEYMS innings was dominated by an unbeaten 62 from their captain Daniel Martin. The left-hander featured in a 69-run partnership with Bud Bailey (32) for the second wicket and unbeaten stand of 63 with James Pearson (23no) for the third wicket.

Diss employed four slow bowlers in an effective tactic to slow the run rate.

However the Swardeston-CEYMS bowlers were put to the sword from ball one with 37 runs coming in the first five overs and the 100 was reached in the 15th over.

Alliance chairman Stuart Bartram presented the trophy and medallions to the players and also presented Rush with his man-of-the-match award of a bat.

Swardeston-CEYMS – A Bilham st Colman b Germon 2, B Bailey run out 32, D Martin not out 62, J Pearson not out 23, extras 15, total (for 2 wkts) 134 (C Germon 6-1-20-1, H Rush 6-1-12-0, C Cooper 6-0-28-0, T Bawden 4-0-23-0, J Wilby 6-0-29-0, R Whatling 2-0-18-0).

Diss – H Rush not out 68, B Lynn c Konieczny b Wilson 23, L Brown not out 24, extras 23, total (for 1 wkt) 138. (W Purkiss 1-0-9-0, B Bailey 3-0-23-0, J Konieczny 3-0-18-0, D Martin 6-0-39-0, T Wilson 3-0-22-1, T Snelling 2.4-0-19-0).


Leave A Reply