Under 13s scoop county trophy


Swardeston/CEYMS’ under-13 cricketers came out comfortable winners in this year’s Allan Bridgewater Trophy.

In the Pinebanks final, run by the Norfolk Cricket Alliance and sponsored by Howes Percival, Swardeston/CEYMS beat Bradfield by 93 runs to win the trophy for the first ever time.

Missing Robert Newton and Bud Bailey, away representing the South of England, and James Pearson, on holiday, the team rallied round to produce a match-winning performance under the guidance of manager Stuart Shearing.

Bradfield batted first in the eight-a-side competition and made 260 from their 24 overs. Patrick Worsencroft top scored with 21 for the north Norfolk team and Tom Patrickson and Ollie Kimber both hit 17.

Bradfield’s batsmen had no problem scoring runs – they hit 348 – but they lost 11 wickets in the process to end with a net score of 260.

Swardeston/CEYMS’ most successful bowler was Josh Rowe with 3-23 and there were two wickets each for Alex Bilham, Tom Feary and James Phillips.

In reply, Swardeston/CEYMS’ batsmen all made sure they overhauled the Bradfield total with some consistent and responsible batting. They only lost three wickets on their way to reaching 377 to end with a net score of 353.

Josh Tunnicliffe led the way with 37, including six fours, with Peter Claussen making 20, Ben Shearing 18 and Alex Kovio 17.

Norfolk Cricket Board secretary Derek Cousins presented Tunnicliffe with the man-of-the-match award.

Howes Percival’s Jon Baskerville presented the trophy and pennant to Swardeston/CEYMS skipper Shearing and medallions to all the players and umpires.


Leave A Reply