Parlane named 2002 player of the year


New Zealand batsman Michael Parlane has been named Swardeston’s player of the year.

The Kiwi scored 947 runs at an average of 86.09 in Swardeston’s East Anglian Premier League campaign. He hit five hundreds and three half centuries with a highest score of 166 not out.

Parlane, who is currently back in New Zealand playing for Northern Districts, was given the award at the club’s annual dinner, held at The Bird in Hand, Wreningham.

Bowler David Horrex picked up the player-of-the-year award for the Howes Percival Norfolk Alliance premier division team while Stuart Shearing and Don Drepaulsingh shared the Alliance Division 3 team award.

The trophy for the most outstanding performance of the year went to Rob Ebbage for his innings of 119 in Swardeston’s Stan Biss Trophy win over Downham Market when they chased more than 350 for victory and won with two overs to spare.

Spinner George Walker, who made his first-class debut for Leicestershire this summer, picked up the Neville Herathge Trophy for the most outstanding youth player for the second year running.


Leave A Reply