Harry Barker named 1st XI player of the year


Harry Barker was named 1st team player of the year at Swardeston’s annual awards presentation dinner, held at Number 47 St Giles.

The dinner was attended by 70 guests and was also marked by presentations to the young player of the year and the outstanding performance of the season award. Read separate report.

And for the third year, a trophy was awarded for the best young player of the player season (Under-16) – the Philip Sturman Memorial Trophy. See separate report.

Chair Stuart Bartram welcomed players and members and thanked guests from main club sponsors Leathes Prior for their support.

In his report, 1st XI captain Lewis Denmark said: “Following the disappointment of the 2022 season, the 2023 season was a year in which the EAPL title returned to the Common for the first time since 2016.

“A talented squad built from within the club with the addition of Sri Lankan overseas, Saranga Rajaguru for this second season. Consistent performances, whole squad contributions, and finding a way to win were the key fundamentals in the team winning more matches than anyone else and losing the fewest games in a highly competitive league.

“Player of the season could have gone one of many ways but I was delighted to give the award to Harry Barker in his second season at the club for consistent outstanding performances behind the stumps and regular contributions with the bat.

“Harry perfectly epitomises everything that we expect of first-team cricketers at Swardeston and has been the perfect fit into the club since joining ahead of the 2022 season.”

Sam said: “The 2nd XI player of the year goes to Harry De Coteau-Spring for his 36 wickets at 11 apiece, a number of catches including a couple of outstanding caught and bowled dismissals as well as some useful runs down the order.

“Harry consistently dismissed some of the opposition’s best players and helped the team get back into games that we may have lost, amongst the 36 wickets was Harry’s first ever 5-wicket haul (6-32 against Downham Stow at The Common).” 

Oli Browne was named the Swardeston CEYMS player of the year by captain Matt Hogg, winning the Bob Read Shield.  Matt was unable to attend and his review was read out by chair Stuart Bartram.

Matt wrote: “The 3rd XI player of the year has to go to our leading run scorer Oli Browne who led the way for us. He scored 377 runs with three 50s and one perfectly timed hundred away at Bradfield. The wickets last year were certainly not conducive to batting but Oli was the exception.

“Eventually, the second team came calling so he only played in half of the games, but when he did play for us, he never looked in much trouble and the speed in which he scored his run was exceptional. ”

Chris Blincoe was named the Swardeston CEYMS A player-of-the-year by captain Cameron Clarke, taking home the CEYMS Trophy.

Cameron said 2023 was a much better season for the fourth team. “Our partnership with Saxlingham led to many members joining our playing eleven, creating a much stronger core. For the player of the year, it goes to Chris Blincoe, whose desire and competitive spirit consistently made us a better side when he was on the field, and he always gave his all, the ultimate team player and a captain’s dream!

“Chris was always in the action with bat, ball or in the field, and took our best figures of 6/13 to snatch a victory from Lowestoft.”

Grace Spratt was named the women’s player of the year and awarded the Rosamond Thomas Trophy.

Director of Youth and Women and Girls Cricket Neil Tayor said: “Grace had an outstanding season with both bat and ball. Her performances playing in the boys Under-15 tier 1 competition as an Under-12 were outstanding, taking vital wickets with her leg spin. Grace has now been selected for Norfolk Girls Centre of Excellence for the 2024 season.” 

  • Chris Bean Cup – 1st XI player of the year: Harry Barker
  • John Bobbin Salver – 2nd XI player of the year: Harry De Coteau-Spring
  • Bob Read Shield – Swardeston CEYMS player of the year: Oli Browne
  • CEYMS Trophy – Swardeston CEYMS A player of the year: Chris Blincoe
  • Rosamond Thomas Trophy – Women’s player of the year: Grace Spratt
Captain Lewis Denmark presents Harry Barker with the Chris Bean Cup for 1st XI player of the year.
Captain Sam Thelwell presents Laurence De Coteau with the John Bobbin Salver for 2nd XI player of the year. Laurence received the trophy on behalf of his son Harry De Coteau-Spring who is away in Australia.
Chris Blincoe receives the Bob Read Shield for Swardeston CEYMS player of the year on behalf of Oli Browne who could not be present. Presenting is Chair Stuart Bartram.
Chair Stuart Bartram presents Chris Blincoe with the CEYMS Trophy for the Swardeston CEYMS A player of the year.
Director of Youth and Women and Girls Cricket Neil Taylor presents Grace Spratt with the Rosamond Thomas Trophy for the Swardeston Women & Girls player of the year.

Leave A Reply