Swardeston named Sports Team of the Year at Active Norfolk Awards


Swardeston vice-captain Lewis Denmark, centre, and Matthew Taylor, left, and Jeremy Elliott, right, with the Active Norfolk Sports Team of the Year Trophy.

Swardeston were named Sports Team of the Year at the 2019 Active Norfolk Awards.

The award capped a remarkable year for Swardeston as it became the first club in the UK to win both national club titles in the same year.b042f902-d472-4311-acac-3f76d3cb17b7

There were more than 400 nominations across the event’s 11 categories with the awards held at Open, Norwich, and hosted by Becky Jago, of ITV Anglia.

Swardeston also made the shortlist for the final Winner of Winners award but this deservedly went to shot-putting champion Sophie Mckinna, who is 2019 British Indoor and Outdoor Champion and a World, European and double Commonwealth Games finalist.

The Team award, sponsored by Easton Otley College, ‘recognises a team that has made great achievements in their sport on a regional, national, or international level, or made great progress over the year.’

Swardeston beat off the challenge of Norfolk Sportshall Athletics Under-13 Girls and UEA FC to win the trophy.

Swardeston were double winners in the 2010 awards going home with the Team of the Year and Active Norfolk Winner of Winners trophy following their stunning success in this year’s national Twenty20 Cockspur Cup.

In 2016 Swaerdeston also won the Teamof the Year Trophy after winning the national T20 club title, their fifth EAPL championship in a row, the Carter Cup, and reaching the final of the national 45-over competition.

IMG_4849 EJ9lfb7WsAAni8B


Leave A Reply