Players of the year honoured at annual awards dinner


Stephen Gray was named premier team player of the year by captain Mark Thomas at Swardeston’s annual awards dinner, held at Wensum Valley, Golf and Country Club on Friday night.

The dinner was attended by 75 people and was also marked by three separate presentations to some deserving club members and the youth and outstanding performance awards, see separate report.

Stephen was the leading run scorer for the 1st XI in the EAPL , making 662, with best of 92 not out at home to Saffron Walden and averaging over 36. Skipper Mark Thomas said Stephen had a terrific season behind the stumps as well, taking 19 league catches with five stumpings.

Overall throughout the season Stephen made 974 runs with 30 catches and eight stumpings.


Mark Thomas presents Stephen Gray with Chris Bean Cup for the Premier XI player of the year.

Alex Levinson picked up the John Bobbin Salver as 2nd XI player of the year, and was presented the award by skipper Ben Hogg. Alex scored more than 300 runs with a high score of 60 and also grabbed nine league wickets and five catches.


Ben Hogg presents Alex Levinson with the John Bobbin Salver for 2nd XI player of the year.

Youngster Flynn Drinkell picked up the honours for the A XI for scoring 314 runs in just nine innings with an average of over 39 and a high score of 72 in the home game against Bradenham.


Nathan Taylor presents Flynn Drinkell with the Bob Read Shield for A XI player of the year.

Sapumal Herathge was named the Swardeston CEYMS player of the year. Saffy scored more than 400 runs from 11 innings, averaging over 46 and hitting a s season’s best of 109 at Cromer A. He also claimed 10 wickets and six catches.


Stuart Bartram presents Sapumal Herathge with the CEYMS Trophy for the Swardeston CEYMS player of the year.

Sam Thelwell was named the Swardeston Sunday player of the year by captain Ben Hogg. Ben said Sam had played a number of roles in the team, always happy to bowl but sometimes opening the batting, including making 86 in the game against Norwich where he really should have made a century.


Sam Thelwell picks up the Peter Thomas Trophy from captan Ben Hogg as Swardeston Sunday player of the year.

Chris Bean Cup – Premier XI player of the year: Stephen Gray
John Bobbin Salver – 2nd XI player of the year: Alex Levinson
Bob Read Shield – A XI player of the year: Flynn Drinkell
CEYMS Trophy – Swardeston CEYMS player of the year: Sapumal Herathge
Peter Thomas Trophy – Swardeston Sunday player of the year: Sam Thelwell


Leave A Reply